top of page

CSC RX3 Cyclone Top Case Modifications

Following are the TWO changes I made to the stock top case on the CSC RX3 Cyclone to make it more “adventure-friendly”.

First, I removed the top case. I then removed to the two bolts that mount the rear rack to the side handles and the two bolts that mount to the rack sub-frame. I applied some medium-strength Loctite to the threads and reinstalled these four bolts. Since the top case is cantilevered off the back of the bike it will be subject to the most vibration on rough trails and you don’t want these mounting bolts to vibrate loose!

Next, I added tie-down rings to the base of the top case.

I bought three small D-rings at the local hardware store. Then I fabricated some straps using standard pipe strapping.

I installed these D-rings with 1.5-inch 6mm bolts and washers, adding a drop of Loctite to each. Note the position of the D-rings in the photo below. (The stock bolts are barely long enough to engage the threads in the rack. These longer bolts are long enough to extend slightly below the base of the rack.)

Finally, I placed the stock foam insert over the D-rings to mark their vertical location, then cut slits with a razor knife to allow the rings to protrude through the thin foam layer.

After installing the D-rings, I added my touring tool bag along with a spare front and rear inner tube. I also had room for a short bicycle air pump. I secured the tool bag with a bungee cord tied to the center D-ring and hooked to the outside rings.

I have ridden many miles on rough, rocky roads and the tools don’t move and don’t rattle in the top box. I consider this a huge improvement.

The second project involved adding tie downs to the top of the case for additional storage.

From previous ADV trips I had accumulated two medium Wolfman luggage “Rolie” bags. (These waterproof, roll-top duffel bags are available from several suppliers, including CSC.) I wanted to use one of these bags for excess gear that wouldn’t fit in the top case, or clothes that I shed as the day heats up.

The Rolie bags have a tie down system built in. I bought four chrome tie downs at the local hardware store. Measuring the spacing of the straps, I determined that the center of the brackets needed to be 6-inches apart. This also meant that the spacing of the inside holes on the brackets would be 3.5-inches apart.

Looking at the top of the case, I found that this spacing would allow for the brackets to be spaced evenly around the CSC logo.

The width of the spacing was determined by the molded surface. I wanted to add some reinforcement to the case lid, so I cut some strips of 1/4-inch Lexan about an inch wide.

I marked the location of the inside holes of the brackets. Then, using the brackets as a guide, I drilled holes in the lid and the reinforcing strips. I bolted the brackets in place using larger fender washers on the underside along with locking nuts.

The photos below show how the stuffed Rolie bag attaches to the top case with web straps.

Because the top case is lightweight, you can’t put much in the Rolie bag. But if I have a few light things that I don’t want to haul in a backpack, this is a good option. Likewise, I can carry the flat, empty Rolie bag in the top case and attach it to the top to carry clothing that I remove as the day warms up. (Remember, my top case is pretty full with the tool kit I carry off road – see above.)

Randy Reek is an Affiliate of CSC Motorcycles:

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page